Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Advanced Certificate in Early Learning and Care : Hidden Boxes

Resources

Aistear

  • Aistear is the curriculum framework for children from birth to 6 years in Ireland. It provides information for adults to help them plan for and provide enjoyable and challenging experiences so that all children can grow and develop as competent and confident learners within loving relationships with others

Aistear/Síolta Practice Guide

  • The Practice Guide includes a range of resources to help practitioners to critically reflect on their curriculum and to identify what works well.

Childcare Act 1991 (Early Years Services) Regulations 2016

  •  Specifics about the regulation of pre-school childcare services. These Regulations set down the standards of health, safety and welfare that must be in place before such services can be provided.

Diversity, Equality and Inclusion Charter and Guidelines for Early Childhood Care and Education

  • This documents the sector’s commitment to diversity, equality and inclusion as well as guidelines for early childhood managers and practitioners

Early Years Quality and Regulatory Framework

  • Tusla's framework to support registered Early Years Services to comply with the Childcare Act 1991 (Early Years Services) 2016 Regulations.

Quality and Regulatory Framework eLearning Programme

  • A short programme developed by Tusla to support early years professionals to meet the requirements of the Child Care Act 1991 (Early Years Services) Regulations 2016 and the Childcare Act 1991 (Early Years Services) (Amendment) Regulations 2016, and assist registered providers and staff of early years services to prepare for a Tusla early years inspection.

Síolta

  • The National Quality Framework for Early Childhood Education

Academic Writing

  • An introduction to writing academically on the digital library

Academic Writing Handbook for Learners in the Further Education Sector

  • Aimed at learners on Level 5 and Level 6 courses, this handbook provides an introduction to academic writing

 Referencing Handbook for the Further Education and Training (FET) Sector

  • This handbook aims to assist FET learners in improving their understanding of referencing and their referencing skills

Resources

Children First Act 2015

  • This act places a number of statutory obligations on specific groups of professionals and on particular organisations providing services to children.

Children First - National Guidance for the Protection and Welfare of Children

  • Children First Guidance describes the four main types of abuse and sets out the steps which should be taken to ensure that the child or young person is protected from harm.

Children’s Rights in the EU: Supporting Them, Supporting You

  • This brochure raises awareness about European Union Agency for Fundamental Right's (FRA) work on child rights in Europe. Signposting relevant reports and practical tools, it is a resource and reference point for your own work upholding child rights.

Early Childhood Education in Ireland: Change and Challenge

  • This paper discusses developments in early childhood education in Ireland and the impact of frameworks and standards on the sector.

Forty Years of EU Influencing Social Policy in Ireland – a Glass Half Full?

  • This paper outlines the broad parameters of European social policy and historical developments in European social policies, politics and institutions, drawing particular attention to Ireland’s contribution to shaping EU social policy. It also examines four phases of Ireland’s EU membership and asks how Irish social policy was influenced in each of these stages and how Ireland influenced EU social policy.

Guidance on Developing a Child Safeguarding Statement

  • Tusla's guide on how to create a Child Safeguarding Statement as required by the Children First Act 2015

A Guide to Children’s EU Rights  in Ireland

  • This information booklet aims to raise public awareness about children’s rights that flow from Ireland’s membership of the European
    Union (EU).

Quality and Regulatory Framework eLearning Programme

  • A short programme developed by Tusla to support early years professionals to meet the requirements of the Child Care Act 1991 (Early Years Services) Regulations 2016 and the Childcare Act 1991 (Early Years Services) (Amendment) Regulations 2016, and assist registered providers and staff of early years services to prepare for a Tusla early years inspection.

Resources

Guidelines for Supporting Learning and Development Through Assessment

  • These guidelines describe what assessment is and show what it can look like in early childhood.

Siren Films - Understanding Childhood

Resources

Aistear/Síolta Practice Guide

  • The Practice Guide includes a range of resources to help practitioners to critically reflect on their curriculum and to identify what works well.

Barnardos

  • Barnardos is a charity that  works for and with vulnerable children in Ireland. Their website contains many useful resources in early learning and care.

eBooks

Login is required to access eBooks.

Resources

AIM Inclusive Play

  •  A set of sensory and educational play resources to support inclusive practice within Early Learning and Care settings.

Aistear

  • Aistear is the curriculum framework for children from birth to 6 years in Ireland. It provides information for adults to help them plan for and provide enjoyable and challenging experiences so that all children can grow and develop as competent and confident learners within loving relationships with others.

Diversity, Equality and Inclusion Charter and Guidelines for Early Childhood Care and Education

  • This documents the sector’s commitment to diversity, equality and inclusion as well as guidelines for early childhood managers and practitioners

Síolta

  • The National Quality Framework for Early Childhood Education.

eBooks

Login is required to access eBooks.

Resources

Annual Early Years Sector Profile Report 2018/2019

  • This report presents an overview of the Early Learning Care (ELC) and School-Age Childcare (SAC) sector in Ireland for the programme year 2018/19

Child Care Act 1991 (Early Years Services) Regulations 2016

  •  Specifics about the regulation of pre-school childcare services. These Regulations set down the standards of health, safety and welfare that must be in place before such services can be provided.

Child Care Act 1991 - Tusla Inspection Tool

  • Documentation for pre-school services to use to evaluate their performance in order to be compliant with the Child Care Act 1991 (Early Years Services) Regulations 2016.

ChildLinks: Inspection in Early Childhood Education and Care

  • This issue of ChildLinks contains articles on regulation and inspection of early years services

Corrective Actions and Preventive Actions (CAPA) to Address Non-Compliances

  • Details corrective actions that Early Years Services can undertake when found to be non-compliant with Child Care Act 1991 (Early Years Services) Regulations 2016.

Developing Policies, Procedures and Statements in Early Childhood Education and Care Services: A Practical Guide

  • Barnardos' guide on developing or revising policies, procedures and statements in early years services.

Early-Years Education Inspection (EYEI)

  • EYEI model is used to provide evaluative information, advice and support in relation to education provision in a pre-school setting participating in the Early Childhood Care and Education (ECCE) Programme. These inspections affirm good practice and advise actions, where appropriate, to aid the further development of education provision in the setting.

Early Years Quality and Regulatory Framework

  • Tusla's framework to support registered Early Years Services to comply with the Childcare Act 1991 (Early Years Services) 2016 Regulations.

A Guide to Early Years Education Inspection (EYEI)

  • Details how the Inspectorate of the Department of Education and Skills (DES) conducts inspections in early years settings

Register of Early Years Services by County

  • A list of Early Years Services by area.

Registration Policy: New Applications – Tusla Early Years Inspectorate

  • This document answers the most frequently asked questions on registering early years services under the section 58D(2) of The Child and Family Agency Act 2013.

Tusla Early Years Inspectorate

  • Access regulatory inspection reports of individual Early Years services

eBooks

Login is required to access eBooks.

Why should I use the Library's resources instead of just searching on the Internet?

There's lots of great and useful information out on the Internet, but at the same time there's lots of rubbish too. You need to be able to critically evaluate material you find on the Internet but Library resources contain journal articles, videos, dissertations, newspapers and other sources that are informative and authoritative. They contain high-quality content, written, or selected by, experts in their fields and not freely available on the internet. Using Library resources will help with your work and help improve your marks for assignments.

Library Resources

The links below take you to the Library Users Guide for the resource, not the resource itself.