Administration Practice: Hidden

Licence Type: 3 User (3U) Course Reserve
Strong communication skills are advantageous in all aspects of life, from professional to personal; this book guides you through everything you need to know to achieve this.
Introducing the four basic communication skills; speaking, listening, writing and reading, this book will ensure you will be able to:
Deliver your message effectively
Listen to and hear what others are saying
Present your work and information clearly and be effective in all your correspondence.

This revised and updated edition incorporates all new developments in communication technology and the subsequent challenges and issues presented by today’s fast-changing technological world!

Licence Type: Unlimited access (UA)
Hold productive meetings and events with help from Dummies It's a whole new world out there. With so many companies, big and small, electing to move to virtual or hybrid operating models, meetings have arguably become more important than ever as the primary way teams communicate day-to-day. But how do you maximize engagement when a screen sits between you and your coworkers? In Business Meeting & Event Planning For Dummies, expert author Susan Friedmann shares her tips and insider tricks for navigating virtual and hybrid gatherings without missing a beat. Armed with top-notch guidance and insider tips from Dummies, you'll be able to streamline meetings to maximize efficiency and save money - on or offline. Create effective and exciting business events and presentations Keep on time and on budget, maintain group engagement, and use social media to your advantage Discover best practices, proven tips, and technical advice If you're a professional who wants to make the most of business meetings, this is the Dummies guide for you. It's also a valuable resource for anyone who needs to plan a large-scale event (seminar, convention, etc.).

Licence Type: Three User (3U)
While written for primarily for South African learners, this book will be useful for all studying office management and business administration, as well as employees in an office environment, this title covers topics that have been identified by researching the tasks and responsibilities of office professionals in different organisations in South Africa.

Licence Type: Credit (NL)
Both employees and employers in a wide variety of fields have benefited from computers and the Internet. Computers in the Workplace, Revised Edition is an updated resource that discusses how digital technology has affected business, addressing topics such as the systemization of work, the division of labor, outsourcing, and crowdsourcing. With computers being integrated into workplaces and making it possible for many people to work from anywhere with a laptop, this book is a must read for the professionals of today and tomorrow.

Licence Type: Unlimited access (UA)
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains over 7,100 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behaviour, business strategy, law, and taxation. In its sixth edition, it features the very latest developments, such as those relating to information technology (including mobile technology), and the financial crisis and the subsequent sovereign debt crisis. Entries have been updated to refer to recent events and news in the field, for example the LIBOR scandal.Over 100 new entries have been added including bitcoin, Cog's Ladder, mobile commerce, Six Sigma, social media, theory of institutional deficiencies, and zero-hours contract. Furthermore, there is expanded coverage of areas such as financial regulation and corporate social responsibility, with a number of new entries offering insight into these topics, including aw-shucks defence and Financial Conduct Authority.The new edition of this established bestselling dictionary elucidates modern financial and management jargon, defining entries in a clear, concise, and accessible manner. With recommended web links for many entries, accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Business and Management companion website, this edition is more informative than ever. This A--Z reference work is essential for business students, teachers and professionals, and useful for anyone needing a guide to business terminology.

Licence Type: Unlimited access (UA)
This new textbook covers the Business Communication option in the new series of Edexcel Business for GCSE textbooks, which have been developed and written by the experienced examiner, curriculum developer and bestselling author, Ian Marcous(r). Edexcel Business for GCSE: Business Communication is written in a lively and accessible manner by a business and ICT expert, who will ensure that students will study the correct topics to the appropriate level of depth, and will motivate and prepare students to achieve the best possible results. Key features of the text include: . - Numerous activities and exercises for classroom and homework use. - Lots of real life case studies and examples to motivate and engage students. - Tips and questions to prepare students for the exam. - Accompanying Dynamic Learning TeacherOCOs Resource provides answers, interactive activities and Powerpoint slides for each chapter of the book."

Licence Type: Unlimited access (UA)
Trust our authors - whose students have achieved 100% A-C grades in Higher Admin since 2018 - to build your confidence and boost your grade.Easy to understand and enjoyable to read, this textbook takes you through all the theoretical content and practical skills, with over 60 accompanying digital tasks provided free online.> Learn and remember every topic. Simple explanations ensure that you have strong knowledge of administrative theory. Real-life case studies with differentiated exam-style questions help to check understanding before you move on.> Gain skills for the future. Digital literacy, organisational and management skills are developed throughout the course. The authors also focus on problem-solving skills, to set you up for success in the workplace.> Put skills into practice. Follow clear, step-by-step guides to using spreadsheets, databases, word processing, presentations, emails and e-diary.

Licence Type: Unlimited access (UA)
Part of the Smart Skills Series Meetings offers all you need to know to get the most out of meetings - from setting meetings up, leading them, to how to make the most out of them once the meeting is over. A must for any employee, manager, freelancer of business owner. The book offers proven, practical advice on: setting objectives and creating practical agendas; deciding who should attend and when and where; effective chairing and effective participation - the communications skills necessary - listening, observing, questioning and getting your points across; dealing with problems; follow up after the meeting to prompt suitable action.

Licence Type: Unlimited access (UA)
Perfect for revision, these guides explain the unit requirements, summarise the content and include specimen questions with graded answers.Each full-colour New Edition Student Unit Guide provides ideal preparation for your unit exam:- Feel confident you understand the unit: each guide comprehensively covers the unit content and includes topic summaries, knowledge check questions and a reference index- Get to grips with the exam requirements: the specific skills on which you will be tested are explored and explained- Analyse exam-style questions: graded student responses will help you focus on areas where you can improve your exam technique and performance

Licence Type: Unlimited access (UA)
Have you ever been concerned when you have to write a company report? Do you think that your writing is too wordy or too technical? Do you wish that you could be more concise or more tuned into your audience? These are some of the questions Word Time! answers. The book is based on Elizabeth's years of working with students and business professionals and on the notion that clear writing still matters in the workplace. In part because of the speed of electronic communication, maybe you have forgotten or need to be reminded of some of the basics of punctuation, grammar, and style. Word Time! will help you to write clear, credible, effective emails, reports, resumes, and design memorable PowerPoint - with greater ease. Like its companion Show Time!, about effective speaking, Word Time! is a short, practical guide to help build or rebuild your confidence in your writing skills.