This page gives a quick summary of the information provided on the other pages in this section
ProQuest Education Database is a resource providing access to education-related content from various sources including scholarly journals, trade magazines, dissertations and more. It is a mixture of full-text and title and abstract only.
Access is through a method called Referring URL. This uses a process that checks that the web page that you came from is set up to access Education Database. The web page to get to Education Database is a password-protected page you can find linked on the Access page of this section.
Basic searching uses a Google-like search box. Enter your search terms and click the magnifying glass. To search for a phrase put quotation marks around it. For example, to search for healthy eating enter "healthy eating" Tick the boxes below the search box to limit your results to scholarly journals and/or full-text only. As you start typing you may see, just like Google again, suggested searches appear below the search box and may give you some ideas for different search terms. Click on 'Turn off Auto-Complete' to stop seeing these suggestions.
On the search results page you have a variety of options available to you:
Your search terms are highlighted in each result
Advanced searching lets you construct more complex searches, for example, by searching for specific search terms in specific parts of an item (e.g., title, author, abstract or full-text) and limiting the results to certain publication or document types.
You can also search and browse the different publications covered by this resource. This is quite useful for finding out whether a publication has full-text coverage or not and if here are any delays to the full-text appearing. You can also select a publication and browse issues or search for items within that publication only
This is a feature that allows you to save articles and searches to a folder and create email and RSS (RSS is a way of keeping informed about new website content) alerts for when new items appear that match your search
To create a My Research account, all you need is an email and a password.
